Sun in the Moon - Moon in the Dark
"Sun in the moon, moon in the dark," from
The House in the Night

The Randolph Caldecott Medal

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children published that year by the Association of Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. It is named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott and is the most prestigious American children's book award for an illustrator.

Caldecott Medal Recipients

2024Vashti HarrisonBig
2023Doug SalatiHot Dog
2022Jason ChinWatercress
2021Michaela GoadeWe Are Water Protectors
2020Kadir NelsonThe Undefeated
2019Sophie BlackallHello Lighthouse
2018Matthew CordellWolf in the Snow
2017Javaka SteptoeRadiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat
2016Sophie BlackallFinding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear
2015Dan SantatThe Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend
2014Brian FlocaLocomotive
2013Jon KlassenThis Is Not My Hat
2012Chris RaschkaA Ball for Daisy
2011Erin E. SteadA Sick Day for Amos McGee
2010Jerry PinkneyThe Lion and the Mouse
2009Beth KrommesThe House in the Night
2008Brian SelznickThe Invention of Hugo Cabret
2007David WiesnerFlotsam
2006Chris RaschkaThe Hello, Goodbye Window
2005Kevin HenkesKitten's First Full Moon
2004Mordicai GersteinThe Man Who Walked Between the Towers
2003Eric RohmannMy Friend Rabbit
2002David WiesnerThe Three Pigs
2001David SmallSo You Want to Be President?
2000Simms TabackJoseph Had a Little Overcoat
1999Mary AzarianSnowflake Bentley
1998Paul O. ZelinskyRapunzel
1997David WisniewskiGolem
1996Peggy RathmannOfficer Buckle and Gloria
1995David DiazSmoky Night
1994Allen SayGrandfather's Journey
1993Emily Arnold McCullyMirette on the High Wire
1992David WiesnerTuesday
1991David MacaulayBlack and White
1990Ed YoungLon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China
1989Stephen GammellSong and Dance Man
1988John SchoenherrOwl Moon
1987Richard EgielskiHey, Al
1986Chris Van AllsburgThe Polar Express
1985Trina Schart HymanSaint George and the Dragon
1984Alice and Martin ProvensenThe Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis Bleriot
1983Marcia BrownShadow
1982Chris Van AllsburgJumanji
1981Arnold LobelFables
1980Barbara CooneyOx-Cart Man
1979Paul GobleThe Girl Who Loved Wild Horses
1978Peter SpierNoah's Ark
1977Leo and Diane DillonAshanti to Zulu: African Traditions
1976Leo and Diane DillonWhy Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears
1975Gerald McDermottArrow to the Sun
1974Margot ZemachDuffy and the Devil
1973Blair LentThe Funny Little Woman
1972Nonny HogrogianOne Fine Day
1971Gail E. HaleyA Story a Story
1970William SteigSylvester and the Magic Pebble
1969Uri ShulevitzThe Fool of the World and the Flying Ship
1968Ed EmberleyDrummer Hoff
1967Evaline NessSam, Bangs, and Moonshine
1966Nonny HogrogianAlways Room for One More
1965Beni MontresorMay I Bring a Friend?
1964Maurice SendakWhere the Wild Things Are
1963Ezra Jack KeatsThe Snowy Day
1962Marcia BrownOnce a Mouse
1961Nicolas SidjakovBaboushka and the Three Kings
1960Marie Hall EtsNine Days to Christmas
1959Barbara CooneyChanticleer and the Fox
1958Robert McCloskeyTime of Wonder
1957Marc SimontA Tree is Nice
1956Feodor RojankovskyFrog Went A-Courtin'
1955Marcia BrownCinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper
1954Ludwig BemelmansMadeline's Rescue
1953Lynd WardThe Biggest Bear
1952Nicholas MordvinoffFinders Keepers
1951Katherine MilhousThe Egg Tree
1950Leo PolitiSong of the Swallows
1949Berta and Elmer HaderThe Big Snow
1948Roger DuvoisinWhite Snow, Bright Snow
1947Leonard WeisgardThe Little Island
1946Maud and Miska PetershamThe Rooster Crows
1945Elizabeth Orton JonesPrayer for a Child
1944Louis SlobodkinMany Moons
1943Virginia Lee BurtonThe Little House
1942Robert McCloskeyMake Way for Ducklings
1941Robert LawsonThey Were Strong and Good
1940Ingri and Edgar Parin d'AulaireAbraham Lincoln
1939Thomas HandforthMei Li
1938Dorothy P. LathropAnimals of the Bible